Publisher: Allen and Unwin

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

 

Writing Clementine follows the story of Clementine Darcy who feels like she is lost and doesn’t fit in with her friends. The story is written as multiple journal entries to her teacher, Ms Hiller. Throughout the story she grows as a person and discovers who she really is.  

I really enjoyed this story a lot. I didn’t really know what expect from it as I’m not a huge contemporary (though I’m slowly branching out), but I was surprised how much I loved it.

I loved Clementine’s style of writing and I loved the additions of poems throughout the story. Clementine’s love interest, Fred was an interesting character, but he truly did help Clementine find her true self. It was nice to see that they added Steampunk into the story and I loved it when Clementine went to all the events organised by the Steampunk Society.

As for Clementine’s two “best friends” Chelsea- Grace and Cleo, I thought that they were similar to a lot of teenagers because they were more interested in boys and how “cool” they were. They slowly learnt to accept Clementine for who she was and their personalties both changed throughout the book.

The only problem I had with it was that everything turned out so perfectly, but that might just be me reading too many dystopians and fantasies.

Overall I thought it was a very entertaining read and would definitely recommend to children of all ages.

 

